Jeremiah George Named Cyclones MVP - ABC5 News Des Moines, IA

Jeremiah George Named Cyclones MVP

Posted: Updated:

Will Hall



AMES, Iowa – The Iowa State football team held its annual awards banquet Sunday afternoon, as head coach Paul Rhoads handed out this season's honors to the members of the team.


Senior linebacker Jeremiah George was a big winner, picking up the Pete Taylor Award as the team's most valuable player and the Al and Dean Knudson Award for the team's top defensive skill player.


The first-team All-Big 12 linebacker led the Big 12 in tackles (11.1), becoming just the third Cyclone in Big 12 history to lead the league in tackles (Alvin Bowen in 2006; Jesse Smith in 2009). George led the Cyclones in tackles (133), tackles for loss (12.0), sacks (3.5), forced fumbles (3) and interceptions (2).


Sophomore wide receiver Quenton Bundrage took home the Ray Scott Outstanding Offensive Skill Player Award. Bundrage had a breakout year for the Cyclones, leading the team in catches (48), receiving yards (676) and touchdowns (9). His nine TD grabs tied an ISU single-season school record.


The Dury Moss Outstanding Newcomer Award went to junior tight end E.J. Bibbs. Bibbs emerged as one of the best tight ends in the league, ranking second in the Big 12 for catches by a tight end with 39. The Second-Team All-Big 12 recipient was the only Cyclone to have multiple catches in all 12 games.


Juniors Cory Morrissey and Tom Farniok were awarded ISU's top defensive and offensive lineman, respectively. Morrissey led all ISU down linemen in tackles with 52 and was second on the team in tackles for loss (6.5). Farniok will enter his senior season with the most starts (35) of any current player on the team.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WOI. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.